What We Do in the Shadows (31 Nightmares #20)

31 Nightmares, Horror, Movies

A unique spin on the comedy horror genre.

“What We Do in the Shadows” comes to us from director/writer Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi. Clement and Waititi also play Vladislav and Viago in the film.

I didn’t know much about “What We Do in the Shadows” going in, and I’m glad I didn’t. When the film revealed itself as a documentary (about vampires no less!), I couldn’t stop smiling.Both vampires and The whole found footage genre has been overplayed, but this film found such a refreshing way to execute the technique to make it feel new again.

As enjoyable as this movie is though, it does run out of a steam a little. Not to the point to where I didn’t care anymore, but I felt like the movie was getting tiring. The story and material just felt sorta extended and stretched out to meet a 90 minute runtime.

I know I seem like I’m being really negative, but there’s a lot great about this movie. The performances are all wonderful and really natural and the humor is perfect for what the movie is going for.

Waititi is also directing Thor: Ragnarok, so this and “Hunter for the Wilderpeople to really get a feel of what to expect.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

